OberaudorfPlace

Pearl of the Inn valley

The beauty and variety of the Alpine region, with its rolling hills, steep crags and charming valleys, is nothing short of amazing. And right at its heart lies Oberaudorf in the Inn valley. Anyone coming here should bring one thing above all: plenty of time. Oberaudorf and the enchanting and unspoilt region that surrounds it have lots to offer.

01 Oberaudorf Ortsansicht C Tourist Information Oberaudorf Yvonne Tremml02 Schoene Wanderung Nahe Oberaudorf C Tourist Information Oberaudorf Osterauer03 Fahrradfahrer In Oberaudorf C Tourist Information Oberaudorf Sarah Muellinger04 Bichlersee C Georg Regauer G Photography05 Sommerrodelbahn C Tourist Information Oberaudorf Osterauer06 Oberaudorf Ortsmitte C Tourist Information Oberaudorf08 Musikkapelle Oberaudorf C Tourist Information Oberaudorf Hans Osterauer
01 Oberaudorf Ortsansicht C Tourist Information Oberaudorf Yvonne Tremml
02 Schoene Wanderung Nahe Oberaudorf C Tourist Information Oberaudorf Osterauer
03 Fahrradfahrer In Oberaudorf C Tourist Information Oberaudorf Sarah Muellinger
04 Bichlersee C Georg Regauer G Photography
05 Sommerrodelbahn C Tourist Information Oberaudorf Osterauer
06 Oberaudorf Ortsmitte C Tourist Information Oberaudorf
08 Musikkapelle Oberaudorf C Tourist Information Oberaudorf Hans Osterauer

The Tatzelwurm waterfalls are certainly worth a stop on any journey along the German Alpine Road: they gurgle, gush, foam and sparkle as they plunge 95 metres across two sections of a rocky gorge. Two bridges grant spectacular views of the cascading waters.

As you approach Oberaudorf from the west you cross the Sudelfeld region with its magnificent Alpine pastures. You don't have to conquer the surrounding mountains on foot, but you can if you like. A more relaxed alternative is the chairlift to the top of Mount Hocheck in Oberaudorf. Along with wonderful panoramic views the summit offers a summer toboggan run, a myths and legends trail and a zip line. Nearby Wendelstein with its romantic little mountain church and Germany's highest cave with its icy treasure can be reached in comfort via a rack-railway dating back more than 100 years.

Restaurants, cafés and mountain inns offer welcome breaks with regional refreshments. Visitors just love the delicious local cuisine, whether it's gourmet dishes or rustic fare.

If you can, plan in time to attend the annual Oberaudorf-Reisach music festival in early summer, or the weekly band concerts that take place from the middle of May to the start of September.

By the way: the people of Oberaudorf don't just claim to live in one of the country's most beautiful regions – they have the award to prove it. Their pretty village of Niederaudorf was named the most beautiful in Germany in 2010.

OberaudorfOrt

Perle des Inntals

Staunen lässt sich's über die oft magisch schöne Vielfalt der Alpenregion mit ihren sanften Hügeln, schroffen Felsen und lieblichen Tälern. Und mittendrin liegt Oberaudorf im bayerischen Inntal. Wer hier her kommt, der sollte eines mitbringen: viel Zeit. Denn die bezaubernde und ursprüngliche Region rund um Oberaudorf hat allerhand zu bieten. Aktiv erholen oder einfach die Seele baumeln lassen - dies und vieles mehr ist in Oberaudorf möglich.

Oberaudorf Vor KaisergebirgeOberaudorf Bruennstein Kirche Copyright Tourist Info Oberaudorf Web Thregiongalleryresponsive 1Oberaudorf Deutsche Alpenstrasse Sudelfeld Copyright Und Fotograf Yvonne Tremml Tourist Info Oberaudorf Web Thregiongalleryresponsive 1Oberaudorf Gold Dorf Niederaudorf Copyright Tourist Info Oberaudorf Web Thregiongalleryresponsive 1Oberaudorf Obstbaumwiese Copyright Tourist Info Oberaudorf Web Thregiongalleryresponsive 1Oberaudorf Vor Kaisergebirge Copyright Tourist Info Oberaudorf Web Thregiongalleryresponsive 1Oberaudorf Wasserfaelle Tatzelwurm Copyright Tourist Info Oberaudorf Web Thregiongalleryresponsive 1
Oberaudorf Vor Kaisergebirge
Oberaudorf Bruennstein Kirche Copyright Tourist Info Oberaudorf Web Thregiongalleryresponsive 1
Oberaudorf Deutsche Alpenstrasse Sudelfeld Copyright Und Fotograf Yvonne Tremml Tourist Info Oberaudorf Web Thregiongalleryresponsive 1
Oberaudorf Gold Dorf Niederaudorf Copyright Tourist Info Oberaudorf Web Thregiongalleryresponsive 1
Oberaudorf Obstbaumwiese Copyright Tourist Info Oberaudorf Web Thregiongalleryresponsive 1
Oberaudorf Vor Kaisergebirge Copyright Tourist Info Oberaudorf Web Thregiongalleryresponsive 1
Oberaudorf Wasserfaelle Tatzelwurm Copyright Tourist Info Oberaudorf Web Thregiongalleryresponsive 1

Die Wasserfälle am Tatzelwurm sind allemal einen Abstecker bei der Fahrt auf der Deutschen Alpenstraße wert: Gurgelnd, rauschend, schäumend, sprühend - über zwei Felsstufen geht es 95 Meter in die Tiefe, von zwei Brücken aus lassen sich die Wassermassen eindrucksvoll bewundern.

Das Sudelfeldgebiet mit seiner unvergleichlichen Almlandschaft wird schon bei der Anfahrt auf Oberaudorf von Westen her überquert. Die umliegenden Berge könnte man auch zu Fuß erklimmen, man muss aber nicht. Als gemütliche Alternative bringt Sie ein Sessellift auf den Erlebnis-Berg Oberaudorf Hocheck. Neben einer traumhaften Aussicht gibt es hier eine Sommerrodelbahn, einen Waldseilgarten, einen Sagenweg und den Oberaudorfer Flieger. Auch der benachbarte Wendelstein mit seinem romantischen Bergkirchlein und Deutschlands höchstgelegener Höhle mit ihrem eisigen Schatz ist mit einer über 100 Jahre alten Zahnradbahn bequem zu erreichen.

Restaurants, Gaststätten und Berggasthöfe laden zur gemütlichen Einkehr mit regionalen Produkten ein. Egal ob Feinschmecker oder rustikal-bodenständige Kost, die Besucher lieben die leckere Küche der Region.

Und dann muss man noch Zeit einplanen, um den Klängen der jährlichen Musiktage in Oberaudorf-Reisach im Frühsommer zu lauschen oder den von Mitte Mai bis Anfang September wöchentlich stattfindenden Standkonzerten der Musikkapellen.

Übrigens: Die Oberaudorfer behaupten nicht nur, in einer der schönsten Regionen zu leben - sie haben darauf sogar Brief und Siegel. Der schmucke Ortsteil Niederaudorf wurde 2010 als schönstes Dorf Deutschlands ausgezeichnet!